Perth Amboy Question Approved, Assemblywoman Lopez Re-Elected, Vazquez, Iglesia, Brown, Rodriguez win for School Board

Perth Amboy Election Results

The Public Question for the City of Perth Amboy on the November 5, 2019 ballot, should run off elections be used if no candidate receives more than 50% of votes in a municipal election, was passed yesterday in the New Jersey General Election, getting 1572 yes votes to 787 no votes.  Mayor Diaz had campaigned against the runoff elections, however Perth Amboy voters did not agree and approved the referendum.

The 19th Legislative District Assemblywoman Yvonne Lopez from Perth Amboy won  re-election to the Assembly as did her running mate, Assembly Speaker Craig Coughlin from Woodbridge. Democrats remain in control of the NJ Assembly.

The incumbent Perth Amboy Board of Education slate of Tashi Vazquez, Junior Iglesia and Danielle Brown won three- three year terms on the Perth Amboy School Board and Maria Rodriguez was elected to a one year term on the School Board. Perth Amboy School Board candidates Beth Lieberman, Justin Ross, and Stanley Sierakowski were defeated.

Middlesex County Democratic Freeholder candidates were all elected, Ken Armwood and Charles Kenny were re-elected for 3 year terms and Clary Azcona-Barber was elected to her first 3 year term. Democrat Mildred Scott was elected Sheriff for a one year term for Middlesex County.

Over 250,000 mail in ballots were cast in NJ.

The statewide public Question on Veterans also passed, giving New Jersey’s veterans the ability to benefit from the $250 a year property tax deduction, even if they are in a continuing care retirement community and no longer a property owner.